A Lesson In Gratitude

My experience with 428 Days has been life changing. For the past three months, I have been tweaking small parts of my life in an effort to become more open to change. It has been a wonderful journey that, like most journeys, has come with its own set of forks in the road, potholes, and beautiful sunsets.  What has been most interesting is the ways in which the different challenges are connecting with each other. For example, two months ago, I challenged myself to see more beautiful in my world. It was a transformative challenge, and the impact has stuck with me. In short, Seeing Beautiful has become a habit.

Now, on Day 3 of my 428 Days Gratitude Challenge, I am learning that my attempt to be more grateful is connect to my experiments with Seeing Beautiful. This film by cinematographer, Louie Schwartzberg, is a perfect example of this. In it, he connects an awareness of the beauty in our world to a lesson in gratitude. In the same ways that I learned to acknowledge the beauty of my world during Septembers challenge, I am now learning to celebrate that beauty through gratitude.  In the same way that I realized just how much beauty there was around me during the September challenge, I am now reminded that there are just as many opportunities to be grateful.  And just as I realized that much of the beauty in my world was found in my relationships with other people, I am also realizing that many of my opportunities for gratitude are connected to others in my life.  These same ideas are expressed simply by the older gentleman spotlighted in the film:

And so I wish you that you would open your heart to all these blessings and let them flow through you that everyone who you would meet on this day will be blessed by you. Just by your eyes…by your smile…by your touch…just by your presence. Let the gratefulness overflow into blessing all around you then it will really be a good day.

With that being said…I wish you a good day.

Tagged ,

One thought on “A Lesson In Gratitude

  1. Veda says:

    Wow Thanks for sharing. Beautiful video

Leave a Reply

